en

Running your business

Improved features to delegate more tasks and protect your business

A more secure, expanded way to delegate tasks and access your account.

  • What you need to know
  • Delegate more tasks with MUAA
  • Enhanced security with 2-step verification
  • Get started
  • FAQ

What you need to know

We've enhanced multi-user account access (MUAA) to enable you to assign more kinds of tasks to your team members, and added authenticator apps as a method for 2-step verification. This will provide you with a secure login experience across multiple devices and accounts, and add an extra layer of protection to your eBay account.

Delegate more tasks with MUAA

Boost your productivity and run your business more efficiently by securely assigning a wider range of work, including: 

Messages: Authorize other users to manage your inbox and the messages you send to other members of the community on your behalf.

Advertising campaigns: Enable other users to create, modify, and manage advertising campaigns.

Promotions: Give other users the permission to manage promotions for your listings and associated buyer groups.

Enhanced security with 2-step verification

We’ve introduced 2-step verification with authenticator apps so you and other approved users on your account can enjoy a safe and seamless login process. An authenticator app helps us verify your identity with device-bound, time-based, one-time passcodes (OTP) that reduce the risk of unauthorized access to your eBay account. It’s also more secure than traditional methods such as SMS, voice, and email OTPs.

Get started

Enroll in multi-user account access and enable other users to set up their own login credentials. For more information on how to start using multi-user account access, read the article.  

We recommend enabling 2-step verification and selecting the Authenticator app as your verification method for each user account. During this process, each user will need to provide their credentials. For detailed instructions on setting up 2-step verification, check out our step-by-step guide

FAQ

What is MUAA?

Multi-user account access (MUAA) is an eBay feature ​​that lets you grant permissions to other eBay users, without compromising the security of your account. eBay users who’ve been granted permissions through MUAA must have their own eBay accounts and passwords, which they can use to login, access specific workflows, and perform certain actions on your behalf. Only the account owner can manage invitations and permissions. 

MUAA is currently available to all sellers who’ve opted-in to Seller Hub. For information on MUAA and how to use it, visit the multi-user account access page.

If I grant a user the permission to create and manage advertising campaigns, what actions can they perform?

Authorized users who’ve been granted permission to create and manage advertising campaigns will have access to your Advertising dashboard on Seller Hub. This includes visibility into all Promoted Listings Advanced and Promoted Listings Standard campaigns, as well as related banners. The authorized user can create campaigns, generate and download listing reports, and modify and update campaigns.

What is an authenticator app?

An authenticator app is a free software tool that’s installed on your smartphone and helps securely implement 2-step verification. It works by generating time-based, one-time passcodes (OTP) that you use to log in to your account. The 6-digit passcode generated by the authenticator app is stored locally on your device and doesn't require an internet or mobile network service. It's based on a secret key that's shared between the authenticator app and the eBay app or website.

Which authenticator apps are approved for usage?

You can use any authenticator app, but we recommend using Google Authenticator, Microsoft Authenticator, or Authy.

Should I add a backup method of verification prior to enrolling the authenticator app?

We recommend adding your email and phone number as a backup in case you need to verify your information. For example, if you buy a new phone or lose your current phone, you’ll be required to use a backup method (phone number or email on file) to authenticate prior to re-enrolling into the authenticator app on your new device.